VN Columbus First Christin photo by John Woodcock.jpg

The Choir (Fall 2016)

Alison Calhoun, Mark Chilla, Ruth Cord, Elizabeth Elmi, Sally Gaskill, Brent Gault, Michael Grubb, Abby Henkel, Cindy Kallet, Christian James, Steven Lawrie, Pam MacLaughlin, Marie Walker Monts, Nicole Moody, Gregory Moore, Amira Sabbagh, Mark Schultz, Micol Seigel, Martin Shedd, Susan Sullivan,  Maria Izzo Walker, Carmund White

Susan Swaney

Artistic Director 2004-Present

Susan Swaney has been music director of Voces Novae since 1999 and artistic director since 2004. She is music director for the Unitarian Universalist Church of Bloomington where she has built a fine 65-voice choir and made music part of an active social justice outreach program. She teaches in the Indiana University Department of Theatre, Drama, and Contemporary Dance, and she is an active freelance music director.

2015-2016 Board of Directors

Jane McLeod, president; professor of sociology, associate dean for social and historical sciences and graduate education, Indiana University College of Arts and Sciences

Mark Schultz, vice president and choir member; property manager, Owens Investments, LLC, OBR Realtors, Inc.

Susan Sullivan, treasurer and choir member

Julia Karin Lawson, secretary; lecturer, Indiana University Dept. of Germanic Studies

Susan Swaney, ex officio; artistic director

Lee Caulfield, board member, past treasurer;  past president, Vanderbilt Music Co.

Gregory Moore, board member, past vice president and choir member; senior communications specialist, Indiana University Information Technology Services

Jeffrey Huntsman, board member, past president; associate professor emeritus of English, American Studies, Medieval Studies, and American Indian Studies, Indiana University

Steven Lawrie, board member and choir tenor; regulatory affairs manager, Interventional Radiology, Critical Care, and Surgery, Cook Incorporate

Steve Pollitt, board member; painter, artisan instrument maker